top of page
  • Writer's pictureBen "Wilf" Goodfellow

Helvellyn Tri 2019

Updated: Aug 25, 2020

Well for those that haven’t heard of the event before. It's an Epic. With breath-taking views and brutal climbs, it has to be one of the toughest and best races in the country. Having raced last year and placing a surprise 3rd. I felt a lot more pressure and expectation on my shoulders coming into this one. It wasn’t just a challenge anymore it was a ‘Race!’

1 Mile Swim – 40 Miles Hilly Bike featuring “The Struggle” - 9 Mile Fell Run over Helvellyn (950m)

Race day rolls around and this is it my last event of the Tri session. With the event taking place at the start of September in the Lake District. The weather can always be pretty hit and miss, this year was no exception. A chilly 10 degrees with intermittent downpours, strong winds and lake temps of 13 degrees. “Well we're all racing in the same conditions I guess” is all I keep telling myself as I prepare on race morning. First job is to collect my numbers (137) then set up my transition. While doing this I spot a face I know Beau Smith, last year's 2nd place finisher, the current English 25-30-year-old Sprint Distance champion and phenomenal swimmer. My chances of a win have just dropped to minimal at best but no matter the result, I can say it was against one of the very best.

Into the chilly waters of Ullswater.... A few minutes of trying to acclimatise and catch my breath before its time to go. The gun goes - and we are away. To my amazement I find Beau’s feet and slip in behind, hoping to gain a speedy draft. Sadly, this lasted a whole 20m before a gap started to open and the draft was broken. Through the rest of the 1-mile swim this gap became a gulf and I dropped back into a group of 3 other swims for the majority of the swim.

Exiting the water with nothing between 2nd to 5th- a fast transition was needed. Pulling down the top part of my wet suit I locate my bike, while removing my suit legs. The cold suddenly hit me hard, dizziness drops me to one knee, forcing me to take a second to focus and stabilise, before continuing with my transition.

Out of T1 and onto the bike, I have no idea where this has left me in the race. Along the lakeside and onto the first climb riding hard to try get some warmth back into my body. Questioning the first marshal I see as I pass by, he tells me I am still in 3rd place. A massive surprise given T1 seemed to take an age. By the top of the first climb 2nd is in sight. I make the pass just after joining the A66 (around mile 6) and settle back into my rhythm. A mile or two down the road I glance back to find the same rider still on my wheel but probably at a legal distance. Not wanting to give him a free lift I decided to go hard on the next hill to open this gap. After pushing hard up the next hill (a little too hard) I look back to find the same gap. This pattern continues all the way along the A66 and A591 (the main backbone of the ride, around 25 miles). I keep backing off my effort on the descents to recover and push hard on the climbs to try to break away from him. Burning matches and breaking my rhythm but I just can't gap this guy. When we hit Ambleside and begin climbing The Struggle I am confident I can drop 99.9% of triathletes. Looking over my shoulder often as I climb, I was pretty shocked to see him sticking with me. Eventually, the gap started to open and he dropped away towards the top.

So, what was my mistake? why was I struggling so much to drop this guy after I had caught him so early? Hills are normally my playground!!!

Well talking to him at the end of the event. He was a feather weight at around 57kg- even better suited to climbing than me. All that effort spent trying to drop him on climbs- then going easier on the descents and flats- was the exact opposite of what I should have been doing. Apparently, he was having to work hard while I was riding easy on the descents, but I didn't look back at the correct time, so I missed the signs.

Anyway, over the struggle and onto the technical descent of Kirkstone minimising risk but trying not to throw away time I make it down safe so into the valley bottom for the final run towards T2, it’s all about downing a last gel and drink before hitting Glenridding again and T2.

With only Beau’s bike (1st) in transition, it looked extremely different. I make my way over to 157 racking slot “that’s not my wetsuit and run gear?” confused, I glanced down at my number to see 137. Doubling back to my actual slot I slip on my run shoes and safety pack. Oh! did I not say the run is so extreme it is mandatory to carry survival gear......

Into the first few km of the run and I could already tell no socks was a bad plan, with hot spots already building around my heels and toes. As the gradients increased, the pain in my feet was overshadowed with lower back pain. Not something I have ever really experienced; well apart form at the event last year. Cresting the top of Helvellyn, it was all downhill from here- and I’m not just talking elevation. As I starting running downhill the pain in my feet is agonising. Looking down I can see blood leaking from my shoes. Still I grit my teeth and push on down towards the finish. Eventually I reach Glenridding for the final time and cross the line in 2nd.

A result I can be very proud of- it wasn’t the perfect race from me, I made some stupid mistakes. But the hard training throughout the year and pure determination pulled me through.

One step up from last year. But still, one step to go. Helvellyn Triathlon I'll be back.

Lessons hopefully learnt: -

1) Take the time to really study transition. It can look very different between T1 and T2. But the actual physical spot doesn’t change. I lost 1 min in each transition to 1st. A ridiculous amount of time if I want to be competitive.

2) A triathlon bike is a solo effort- Don’t worry about riders around you- Just focus on your effort and doing the best you can while saving something for the run.

3) When racing an extreme bike course practice riding out the saddle for long periods, ideally followed by a run similar to the events course. Both years I have suffered lower back pain that has never been a problem in other events.

4) If the run is longer than 10km wear socks. The time lost to painful feet is likely to be much greater than time lost in transition!

5) Don’t wear your old shoes till they fall of your feel before replacing them. You might need to wear them again if the new ones don’t work with you.

213 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page